Council Committee Meetings & Membership

The vast majority of meetings are open to the public, although you may be asked to leave the room towards the end if there are confidential items on the Agenda.  Committee agendas, reports and minutes are available to view on our website.

Full Council

All councillors are members of Full Council.  Functions of Full Council include agreement of the budget and major policies that govern the way services are provided.  Councillors may ask questions to members of the Cabinet or Chairs of Committees on any matter in relation to which the Council has powers or duties or which affects the District.  Questions should be given in writing to the Council’s Monitoring Officer two clear working days before the Full Council Meeting.

Overview & Scrutiny Panels

The Council has a number of Overview & Scrutiny Panels that review and scrutinise decisions of the Cabinet, help to develop Council policies and review the work of other public bodies in the area.

Resources Overview & Scrutiny Panel

Service Delivery Overview & Scrutiny Panel

Health Overview & Scrutiny Panel

Community Overview & Scrutiny Panel

Licensing & Regulatory Committee

Planning Applications Committee

Standards Committee

  • Considers issues relating to councillors, including protocol, conduct, training and financial allowances, following a recommendation from an independent panel
  • Comprising 7 elected SMDC Councillors and 2 co-opted Parish Councillors. An Independant Person and 2 substitute Independent Persons are invited to observe the meetings
  • Chair - Cllr. Elsie Fallows
  • Vice-Chair - Cllr. Tony Hall
  • SMDC Members - Cllr. Geoff Bond, Cllr. Kevin Jackson, Cllr. Ian Lawson, Cllr. Peter Wilkinson,
  • Parish Representatives - Cllr. David Fowler, Cllr. Christine Meyrick. Substitute - To be advised.
  • Independent Person - Mr. Harry Mawdsley. Substitutes - Mr. Philip Brough, Mr. Barry Steans.

Audit & Accounts Committee

  • Oversees the audit and corporate governance functions of the Council including financial accounts, treasury and risk management
  • Provides assurance regarding the drawing up, auditing and certification of the Council's annual accounts
  • Comprising 5 elected SMDC Councillors and 2 Co-opted Parish Representatives. The Independent Persons who observe the Council's Standards Committee are also invited to observe this Committee
  • Chair - Cllr. Jim Davies
  • Vice-Chair - Cllr. Tony Hall
  • SMDC Members - Cllr. Becky Done, Cllr. Deb Grocott, Cllr. Kevin Jackson, Cllr. Colin Pearce.
  • Parish Representatives - Cllr. David Fowler, Cllr Christine Meyrick. Substitute - To be advised.
  • Independent Members - Mr. Philip Brough, Mr. Harry Mawdsley, Mr. Barry Steans.

Moorlands Partnership Board

To consider matters related to environmental improvements including:-

Local Plan Steering Group

Last updated: 21st November 2016

Can't find what you are looking for? Try the A to Z